How did we get here from there

It was Pride weekend 2008 (wow that makes me feel old) I was headed to the annual white party at the local lesbian club. I went with some friends and met up with the woman I was dating at the time. A good friend of mine, Shorty, introduced me to a woman I had never seen or met before, which is rare in the lesbian community where we live. I noticed Jamie before my friend introduced us and I was like da da da da damn. Okay, it was more like violins and butterflies and rays of sunshine, but the point is I thought she was the most beautiful woman I had ever seen. She just thought I was a hard ass, which of course I am.

About a month later Shorty and I were headed to the same lesbian bar. It must have been a full moon that night. Right before we went to the bar the woman I was dating broke up with me and on the way to the bar Angie and her girlfriend broke up. Jamie called Angie and asked if she could hang out with us. She and her girlfriend had just broken up a couple of weeks ago. So, there we were…. three sad saps at the bar listening to sad love songs and playing pool. Jamie and I started talking and were pretty immediately drawn to each other. I had just started as an AmeriCorps VISTA and she was in the process of joining the Peace Corps, we both loved the outdoors and were passionate about social justice.

A couple of weeks later Jamie asked me to meet up with them at the club. I swear I was not one those lesbians that went to the bar every week. These were the only three instances of me going to said bar the entire year. Jamie asked me to dance with her all night. I’m shy and kept saying no. Finally, before I left we danced a dance full of smiles, fireworks and pterodactyls (bigger than butterflies). After I got home I asked Shorty for Jamie’s number, Jamie had just done the same. Great minds think alike. So of course we started doing what modern introverts do…texting a lot. Sometimes Jamie forced me to talk on the phone, which I was super self-conscious about because I had bronchitis and sounded like an 80 year old male smoker. We went camping, had our first kiss by the lake, I impressed her with my intense scooter driving skills, and we have been stealing kisses by bodies of water around the world ever since.

We talked about whether we wanted kids or not during probably our second conversation ever and agreed that we both wanted kids and wanted to foster/adopt at some point, when the legislative system catches up with humanity.  Logically, this sealed the deal and we moved in together shortly after. I proposed after selling my plasma for months and we got married on the beach in California. Yes it was after Prop 8, but we wanted a ceremony on the beach.

Fast forward through moving across the country, going to graduate school at the same time (yikes), debating whether or not to move back to the land of zion, moving across the country again, living in a camper trailer, buying a house….and drumroll please: we are now making gaybies!

I am going to carry the first because I’m old. Jamie started telling me I was almost 30 since we met (I was 25 at the time). We’ve picked a donor we will call Socrates (more about this interesting process in a separate post). Our first insemination is planned for August at home, hoping to be one of those lucky couples that get pregnant after just 3 tries.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

Three Hearts Beating

Two lesbian mamas make some queer spawn...

The Other Mom of Four

A wife and mother to a teen, toddler and twins

Loved and Nourished

Stories of loving and nourishing my family

thelesbianmommydiaries

Join us as we embark upon our journey of reciprocal IVF!

Family Values Lesbian

God-fearing gay girl in love with a God-fearing gay girl

Keeping Up With The Joneses

We're lesbians making babies!

lifeloveandbabymaking

The next episode in our adventures together.

LetsMake3

Two moms on a journey to baby.

Adventures Of A Little Captain

And The Parenting Journey Of Two Moms

thedossfamilyjourney

This is the story of us: Two ladies, madly in love, and our journey to find the joy in life!

lesbemums.com/

Two Lesbians' Journey Through Parenthood

2mamasintheworks

Mexican/Norwegian lesbian couple TTC

thechroniclesofanonbellymama

Thoughts From The Other "Real" Mom

Little Rainbow Bugs

Lesbian mamas growing a family

Don't Worry, I Won't Be Like That

And other lies I tell myself during pregnancy

Rainbow Bug - Home Page

The often hilarious, sometimes serious, journey of two lesbians starting a family in the state that happens to be home to both the most Gaybies and the most Mormons

We Love You Chicklets

Our reciprocal IVF journey...

Lez B Vegan Moms

Adventures in Baby Raising and Veganism

Hound Mamas

Two moms, two hounds, and a baby

