6 DPO and Distractions

Well, we’ve made it almost halfway through the two week wait. Thankfully we’ve had quite a few distractions, and people, to keep us busy and to help somewhat keep our minds off of testing and symptoms. Let’s be real honest, nothing is keeping my mind off possible pregnancy symptoms.  We have had a lot going on though which makes me vacillate between thinking I am pregnant and thinking that I am an introvert that has been way too social for my poor little introverted self.  Our many distractions:

1 DPO: I had the day off work for Ramadan. I worked on finishing painting our living room wall Never stencil a whole wall ever, it’s a terrible idea that sucks you into the deep dark hole of stenciling and perfectionism and you will start to lose sight of the light at the end of the tunnel. That night we went to the Erykah Badu concert. She is amazing! I also realized that I am getting too old for concerts with young hipsters and thugs. I thought we were going to get shot in the crossfire of a gang fight for about 2 minutes. Luckily the only guns that were drawn were of the pointer finger variety. I’ll be skipping Ludacris next week.

2 DPO: I had the day off work for Ramadan again. I had planned on getting a lot of things done around the house, but J’s friend from out of town was visiting so I spent the day with  her checking out some local shops and then tried and failed to get the car registered. Later that night we went to my sister’s house and got to hang out with our 3 month and 8 year old nieces. The 3 month old is starting to get chubby little thighs, super adorable.

3 DPO: J’s friend was still staying with us, so the three of us headed to the farmers market, a local tea shop, and then I took a nap. I was exhausted all day and felt nauseous a good part of the day. We met up with a pregnant lesbian couple, who are due in a couple of weeks, saw Fruitvale and stayed up way too late. It was a really depressing movie, but so important, you should see it.

4 DPO:  We woke up super late, like past noon late. Yikes. We went on a hike that was almost straight up the mountain. My legs are still sore, it was so beautiful though and great. We need to go on more hikes. I didn’t feel tired or weird at all really.

DSCN3638

5 DPO: Back to work. I was so exhausted all day and felt like my brain wasn’t really working properly. I felt some weird pinch/twinge feelings in my lower abdomen, nothing I recall ever feeling before. I’ve also never analyzed my body this much before. After work, I picked up my sister who is visiting from Seattle (well she isn’t really visiting she is here to give a deposition in the case against the woman who hit her boyfriend on his bike-causing memory loss, what a jerk!) and went to visit my dad and step-mom. She has renal cell carcinoma and is one tough cookie, it was good/hard to see her, she’s not doing very well.

6 DPO: That brings us to today. I still feel like my brain is on vacation, but not as bad as yesterday. I noticed egg white cervical fluid…what’s that about?

The big question, when to test? I am debating between Friday (9 DPO) and Saturday (10 DPO) and then the crazy person inside of me says what the hell just start testing on Thursday ( 8 DPO). I need help. Must resist the urge to test.

Tagged , ,

6 thoughts on “6 DPO and Distractions

  1. mamaetmaman says:

    Like you, I’ve been counting DPO. Lol. I am going to test on day 14. If you google “countdown to pregnancy”, they have a breakdown of stats for each DPO- percentages of false negatives, positives, even symptoms! Of course, this only feeds the beast!

  2. I agree with the above suggestion of Countdown to Pregnancy. I spent A LOT of time on that website at one point.

    I would recommend not testing too early. It’s a sure way to start a cycle of despair and compulsive peeing.

  3. pepibebe says:

    To be honest I reckon a lot of the HPT companies just say you can get results that early so you test lots of times and have to buy more tests! My earliest positives were at 11dpo. Try and hold out till at least 10dpo or you may just be setting yourself up for disappointment (and making some preggy test company richer).
    I’m not sure how to say it exactly – but I hope you had a good Ramadan.

  4. Caitlin says:

    New blogger who just found your new blog, here! Just want you to know that my partner and I are crossing all of our fingers and toes for you two! Can’t wait to hear the result of your test, but I’m sure our anticipation pales in comparison to yours. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

Three Hearts Beating

Two lesbian mamas make some queer spawn...

The Other Mom of Four

A wife and mother to a teen, toddler and twins

Loved and Nourished

Stories of loving and nourishing my family

thelesbianmommydiaries

Join us as we embark upon our journey of reciprocal IVF!

Family Values Lesbian

God-fearing gay girl in love with a God-fearing gay girl

Keeping Up With The Joneses

We're lesbians making babies!

lifeloveandbabymaking

The next episode in our adventures together.

LetsMake3

Two moms on a journey to baby.

Adventures Of A Little Captain

And The Parenting Journey Of Two Moms

thedossfamilyjourney

This is the story of us: Two ladies, madly in love, and our journey to find the joy in life!

lesbemums.com/

Two Lesbians' Journey Through Parenthood

2mamasintheworks

Mexican/Norwegian lesbian couple TTC

thechroniclesofanonbellymama

Thoughts From The Other "Real" Mom

Little Rainbow Bugs

Lesbian mamas growing a family

Don't Worry, I Won't Be Like That

And other lies I tell myself during pregnancy

Rainbow Bug - Home Page

The often hilarious, sometimes serious, journey of two lesbians starting a family in the state that happens to be home to both the most Gaybies and the most Mormons

We Love You Chicklets

Our reciprocal IVF journey...

Lez B Vegan Moms

Adventures in Motherhood and Veganism

Hound Mamas

Two moms, two hounds, and a baby

