A week too late

Yesterday  my boss, who will be called Anxious Yogi from now on, told me not to get pregnant.  She was 100% serious.  She followed it up by saying that she knew she legally couldn’t tell me that, but that she needed me to not be on maternity leave when the feds come for a monitoring visit in the spring….so I really shouldn’t get pregnant.

I just laughed, probably too hard. I’m pretty sure that my face turned beet red and then I awkwardly changed the subject and left her office as quickly as possible so that I wouldn’t accidentally tell her that I could already be pregnant.

Ugh.

She knows we want kids. She doesn’t know I want to be pregnant and certainly not that we are trying. She may or may not have seen an OPK in the garbage or sitting on my desk that one day.

I really like my job. I really like the people I work with (almost everyone here is queer). I really hope that by getting pregnant Anxious Yogi won’t think I am not interested sticking around for a long time. It makes me really frustrated that as a woman I even have to worry about this. I might not even need to worry. I know that Anxious Yogi is very glad that I am here and thinks I am a great asset for our organization. Having the “guess what I’m pregnant” conversation is going to be kind of scary. Too bad I won’t be able to have a couple of beers first ha ha

In other news, it’s 9 DPO. I took a test last night for fun. It was negative, which wasn’t a big surprise, but for some reason it made me feel less impatient and anxious. We’ll test again at either 11 or 12 DPO. I haven’t had very many “symptoms” backache, a bit of nausea and cramping and waking up to pee every night. I never imagined that two weeks could go by so slowly, and we’ve been doing so much to keep us busy. Maybe a two week coma would be a better option? Anyone have a patent for that?

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “A week too late

  1. […] 2. This previously mentioned conversation […]

Leave a Reply

Three Hearts Beating

Two lesbian mamas make some queer spawn...

The Other Mom of Four

A wife and mother to a teen, toddler and twins

Loved and Nourished

Stories of loving and nourishing my family

thelesbianmommydiaries

Join us as we embark upon our journey of reciprocal IVF!

Family Values Lesbian

God-fearing gay girl in love with a God-fearing gay girl

Keeping Up With The Joneses

We're lesbians making babies!

lifeloveandbabymaking

The next episode in our adventures together.

LetsMake3

Two moms on a journey to baby.

Adventures Of A Little Captain

And The Parenting Journey Of Two Moms

thedossfamilyjourney

This is the story of us: Two ladies, madly in love, and our journey to find the joy in life!

lesbemums.com/

Two Lesbians' Journey Through Parenthood

2mamasintheworks

Mexican/Norwegian lesbian couple TTC

thechroniclesofanonbellymama

Thoughts From The Other "Real" Mom

Little Rainbow Bugs

Lesbian mamas growing a family

Don't Worry, I Won't Be Like That

And other lies I tell myself during pregnancy

Rainbow Bug - Home Page

The often hilarious, sometimes serious, journey of two lesbians starting a family in the state that happens to be home to both the most Gaybies and the most Mormons

We Love You Chicklets

Our reciprocal IVF journey...

Lez B Vegan Moms

Adventures in Baby Raising and Veganism

Hound Mamas

Two moms, two hounds, and a baby

