Bee Sting or Rogue Dog Dentist?

I came home from work yesterday and Xena the warrior puppy was not acting like her normal self. Instead of greeting me with some sweet Xena flying jump flip moves, she ran into the backyard. She ran back in a minute later and I noticed that she looked like she had her wisdom teeth removed and she seemed like she was in a lot of pain, all she wanted was to be snuggled. While I wouldn’t put it past our neighbors to perform oral surgery on our dog, I immediately knew she had been stung by a bee or wasp. Xena is smart, but not street smart. She eats bugs…all kinds (except cockroaches). Flies, beetles, snails, slugs, mosquitoes, spiders, and yes bees. It was only a matter of time before she got stung. I’m quite surprised she made it this long.

Look at those poor cheeks

Look at those poor cheeks

xenabeesting2

She looked like she was about to burst into tears all night

xenabeesting

Just needed some snuggles

Score: Xena-137 Bees-1

Not much has happened in gayby making world. It’s cycle day thirtyfreakingfour. I feel like a 6 year old waiting anxiously for my birthday party and the newest my little pony. I have never wanted my period to start this much, in fact I’ve never wished for it…ever. I was one of those girls who hated getting boobs. It didn’t help that my mom came to my best friends house (where I was playing) and said she needed to measure me because she’d noticed it was time for a training bra. What is a training bra anyways? What are you training for? A lifetime of underwire scars and bad posture? I cried the first day I got my period and didn’t tell anyone. I would only wear sports bras until I was 16. Becoming a woman was dreadful and mortifying for me. Now, here I am wishing and hoping for lovely aunt flo to get here so that we can get on with our baby making. My younger self would never believe it. Cycle day 1 should be Sunday, I hope this next cycle my egg decides to ovulate on time, these long cycles are patience trying.

We still may or may not end up using a known donor if this next try doesn’t work. If it doesn’t work this go round, we’ll continue the conversation and see how it goes.

We’ve been pretty busy doing non-baby related things. Hiking, house projects, canning, trampoline parks. So I guess I’ll just write about all the fun happenings as we continue to wait and wait and wait.

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Bee Sting or Rogue Dog Dentist?

  1. Molly says:

    Poor pup! One of our foster dogs got into it with a bee in July and then did it again last month. Sometimes (ok, all the time), I really wish they understood.

  2. Poor puppy!

    I also hated my period right up until the first cycle that we were trying… then I couldn’t wait for it to arrive! Now I’m enjoying the extended break from it, of course.

  3. […] to make it even better. Our poor Xena got stung last night. You might remember this happened a while ago. This time it was much worse. I thought her eyes were going to swell shut. We […]

Leave a Reply

Three Hearts Beating

Two lesbian mamas make some queer spawn...

The Other Mom of Four

A wife and mother to a teen, toddler and twins

Loved and Nourished

Stories of loving and nourishing my family

thelesbianmommydiaries

Join us as we embark upon our journey of reciprocal IVF!

Family Values Lesbian

God-fearing gay girl in love with a God-fearing gay girl

Keeping Up With The Joneses

We're lesbians making babies!

lifeloveandbabymaking

The next episode in our adventures together.

LetsMake3

Two moms on a journey to baby.

Adventures Of A Little Captain

And The Parenting Journey Of Two Moms

thedossfamilyjourney

This is the story of us: Two ladies, madly in love, and our journey to find the joy in life!

lesbemums.com/

Two Lesbians' Journey Through Parenthood

2mamasintheworks

Mexican/Norwegian lesbian couple TTC

thechroniclesofanonbellymama

Thoughts From The Other "Real" Mom

Little Rainbow Bugs

Lesbian mamas growing a family

Don't Worry, I Won't Be Like That

And other lies I tell myself during pregnancy

Rainbow Bug - Home Page

The often hilarious, sometimes serious, journey of two lesbians starting a family in the state that happens to be home to both the most Gaybies and the most Mormons

We Love You Chicklets

Our reciprocal IVF journey...

Lez B Vegan Moms

Adventures in Motherhood and Veganism

Hound Mamas

Two moms, two hounds, and a baby

